#justsaynon

I failed again with posting, bloody laptop dying on me all the bloody time. So I am on my phone, this has no spell checks or grammar checks. 

You truly see the dyslexic side of me in this post. Yippee? 

Anyway, I have just watched a campaign add. Since 2016 has been rubbish year as it is, couldn’t be bad as the brexit campaign, surely? Right? 

Just say non
Though this is about family planning and contraception, again a topic that I’m involved in since my birth control is almost up (will do a review on that later). This was about the emergency contraception, and I will put a UK view on this because that’s where I’m from.

In the add (and I have taken the E.C once upon a time ago since I had a lovely ex who happened to slip the condom off without telling me…) the E.C cost the range of £30-45 at the local chemist! Outrageous! When I took it it cost me £40 at London Euston.  Should have made him pay. 

However I am seeing the other side of the arguement of “you should have been on the pill, implant or add any other method here” yes, but doesn’t mean that your protected 100%. Especially with the pill, if it works for you fab! But the way I see it, it’s unreliable so it depends on the persons point of view. I don’t mean take the E.C everytime you have sex, but find it out what works for you. Who are you to judge? 

“The NHS is giving so much for free anyway! WE need to focus on mental health instead of sexual health?”

 I do agree, but I am willing to pay more tax for me and other females to have the E.C. However,  our sexual health is important and should always be that. Same with mental health. I mean :- 

when was your last smear?

When was your last counselling session? 

If you haven’t noticed these are really important too? They both have the same urgency don’t they? 

All that I am saying, don’t knock it unless you have tried it since it’s a time sensitive drug, and not always your going to have the chance to book it through the doctors and have it as a prescription but unless you live in Scotland or in Wales even then it comes at the cost. It is quicker to get it at the chemist but the expense. When your unemployed, a young person or a student it’s not always black and white. 

Hope you didn’t mind reading my rant. 

See you soon over the moon (or when the laptop is fixed)

Alexandra 

Leave a Reply

