The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey Review

“After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the second, only the lucky escapes. And after the 3rd only the unlucky survives. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now is the dawn of the 5th wave.”

When I picked up this book it was due to the hype around it, and personally I didn’t want to buy a book that was hyped up that much that I didn’t enjoy it once I watched the movie. I mean look at The City of Glass by Cassandra Clare for example loved the book but I really disliked the movie because it didn’t have enough detail and mostly the important detail.

I found the 5th wave to be an interesting concept of originality of during the apocalypse but I can see the idea of where it came from too like Independence Day, The Quiet Earth (1985) and lastly I am Legend.

I adored how inquisitive the characters was to The Others or as Evan puts it The visitors and I think everyone would be quizzing on who are these people are.

What I hear the most of the book is how some details and how gory the scenes can be, not being funny right, but this is a young adults book it’s not going to be like describing every detail on what the character feeling and what the character is seeing with sights of the blood. Instead it is more along the lines of ‘Its wet.’ ‘It’s sticky.’  Yes its horrible visualising but otherwise there isn’t much gore in this which I am quite disappointed about because what the readers and reviewers where saying about it was it goes into that much detail. I was really looking forward how Rick Yancey would put that in written words.

I found the concept of switching characters where confusing since it was all in the same terminology so you couldn’t really tell who was who unless you went to Sammy’s part which that character would speak really young since he’s five and its highly unlikely that he would speak like an adult.

I also found that it was clear that the two main characters were going to end up together too, it was obvious and it can be hard to write a romantic interest but trying to be subtle about it but come on, give me more to chase for.

Down to the fine line, I found this book really interesting and I couldn’t put it down for a day and a bit.

I hope you found my review useful and if you wish to recommend me some books that will be awesome!

See you soon over the moon!

Alexandra

xxx

Leave a Reply

